The Great British Sewing Bee

February 26, 2014

The Great British Sewing Bee is back on our screens. The programme sees amateur sewers take on challenges each week for one to be crowned the best home sewer.

We saw how the Great British Bake Off took the UK by storm, with a trend for baking coming back into fashion. Will it now be the turn of the Great British Sewing Bee? Take a look my Great British Sewing Bee collection from stores and designers…

1. JohnLewisMiniSewingMachine

2.

TheBlueberryPatch

3.

QuirkyBee

4.

EllenCushionAlsoHome

5.

SarahMoorePeaPodPinCushion

Images Via:

1. John Lewis: www.johnlewis.co.uk

2. The Blueberry Patch: www.theblueberrypatch.co.uk

3. Quirky Bee: http://quirkybee.co.uk/

4. Also Home: www.alsohome.com

5. Sarah Moore: www.sarahmoorehome.co.uk

Advertisements

Decorated Branches

December 10, 2012

Last year I bought some baubles in The White Company Christmas sale and have been waiting all year to be able to use them. Today I started to decorate my bedroom and finally got to put them up! I decided on hanging them off a collection of branches arranged in a vase creating a minimalistic and Scandinavian look. It was just enough to subtly decorate a bedroom and to show off the lovely baubles.

Branch Decoration Erika Davies

IMG00115-20121210-1556

Love… Emma Bridgewater

July 19, 2012

The other day my mum saved two Emma Bridgewater plates from being smashed in a school fate crockery smash and brought them home for me – from my favourite Pink Heart collection too! I have always dreamed of one day having a country home with a collection of Emma Bridgewater crockery in the kitchen and I am now kind of on my way to that dream…!  Emma Bridgewater is a company that designs kitchen products, all of which are handmade and hand painted. The wide range of collections is fitting to every taste and each one adds a touch of pattern to a kitchen. They are ideal for creating that true country kitchen look and decorating your dresser.

1.

2.

3.

4.

Images Via:

www.emmabridgewater.co.uk

Although the summer is now upon us, all things knitted and crocheted are still proving popular. I think it is their comforting qualities and the fact that like in summer fashion, crochet pieces provide a balance of lightness yet warmth from a breeze on the beach and all important stylishness. The popularity of knitted and crochet items has come from the current economic climate, with people returning to ‘make do and mend’ and making products by hand. Designers have taken these traditional techniques and brought them into today’s designs. This trend isn’t just suiting of neutral schemes but it is also brought together with the current pastel and brights trend. These items are ideal for creating a summer interior that is relaxed, fresh and airy that still provides warmth on a cool summer’s night.

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

Images Via:

1.  Occa Home: www.occa-home.co.uk

2. Christien Meindertsma: www.christienmeindertsma.com

3. 95 percent Danish: www.95percentshop.co.uk

4. Also Home: www.alsohome.com

5. Paola Lenti: www.paolalenti.it

Hanging hearts have been around for quite a while now and are still very popular. They are an ideal home accessory, looking perfect on door knobs, drawer knobs and hung on walls and would complete the Shabby Chic look in your home. Here are my favourites…

 

1.

 

2.

3.

 

4.

 

5.

6.

 

 

Images Via:

1. Live Laugh Love: www.livelaughlove.co.uk

2. John Lewis: www.johnlewis.com

3. Through The Cottege Door: www.throughthecottagedoor.co.uk

4. Live Laugh Love: www.livelaughlove.co.uk

5. John Lewis: www.johnlewis.com

6. Ticketty Boo: www.notonthehighstreet.com/tickettyboo

 

Love… Bunting

April 15, 2012

Bunting is proving to be very popular at the moment, reflecting the patriotic Britishness trend that keeps popping up in my posts! Here is a selection of my favourite bunting, which would be perfect to accessorise a home, decorate a summer garden party or style a wedding party.

 

1.

 

 

2.

 

 

3.

 

 

4.

 

 

5.

 

 

6.

 

 

Images Via:

1. The White Company: www.thewhitecompany.com

2.  Yeyah: www.notonthehighstreet.com/yeyah

3. SeaPod: www.notonthehighstreet.com/seapod

4. Just Bunting: www.justbunting.co.uk

5. Coastal Home: www.coastalhome.co.uk

6. Just Bunting: www.justbunting.co.uk

Love… Illustrations

March 21, 2012

Here are some of my favourite home accessories designed with illustrations. I think this look creates a more personal effect to a home and can create a really special, one off piece.

 

1.

 

 

 

2.

 

 

 

3.

 

4.

 

 

 

5.

 

 

 

6.

 

Images Via:

1. Sara Diggins Designs: http://saradigginsdesigns.co.uk/shop.php

2.   Martha Mitchell Design: http://marthamdesign.com

3. One/ of a kind boutique: www.notonthehighstreet.com/oneofakindboutique

4. Caroline Watts Embroidery: www.carolinewattsembroidery.co.uk

5. Coo & co: http://folksy.com/shops/CooandCo

6. Heart Zeena Printed Textiles: www.notonthehighstreet.com/heartzeena

Item of the week…

February 26, 2012

This week’s item of the week is this egg and soldiers set. Takae Mizutani and sons, the creator of this product, have based the idea for this set on child naivety and their aim is to ‘bring a little smile to people’s faces’ and this has done just that! I love it when you find a design which is so simple in idea yet still creates a great design.

Via: Takae Mizutani and Sons: www.takaemizutani.com

Decoration By Erika

February 21, 2012

I have been busy designing and making lampshades recently. As you know I am interested in all things decoration and also love handmade products so decided to start making my own home accessories. My shop, Decoration By Erika, is all about creating home accessories to suit any home. The products are separated into three collections; vintage, timeless and in-trend, ensuring that you can find something that would sit perfectly within the style of your home. I now have online shops with Etsy and Folksy. So here are my first products…

Lampshades Available From:

http://folksy.com/shops/DecorationByErika

http://www.etsy.com/shop/DecorationByErika

Interior Trend: Lace

February 7, 2012

The ancient craft of lace making has been brought up to date  in the past months, now being used in contemporary crafts and home accessories. Also doilies too, for their pretty lace type patterns. I love the handmade doily lamp (image no. 6), an unusual craft idea with a gorgeous result. Lace is no longer associated with old-fashioned design, this trend has made lace fashionable. Lace is ideal for creating a cute and feminine interior or something more romantic and glamorous.

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

Images Via:

1. Zara Home: www.zarahome.com

2. The Hummingbird Card Company: www.notonthehighstreet.com/thehummingbirdcardcompany

3. Bianca Hall: www.roseandgrey.co.uk

4. Stephanie Earl: www.stephanieearl.co.uk

5. Little Pieces: www.notonthehighstreet.com/littlepieces

6. Dos Family: http://dosfamily.com/2011/01/lace-lamp/