Interior Trend: Orange

February 29, 2012

The sun came out today so thought I would share this interior trend ready to brighten up your home for the start of Spring. Orange is predicted to be a popular colour choice this year so why not add a splash of this happy, lively colour into your home. Although orange has a required taste just a few subtle orange accessories such as cushions would brighten up any home ready for the sunnier weather and bring it up to date tastefully!

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

Images Via:

1.  Zara Home: www.zarahome.com

2.  Rice at The Contemporary Home: www.tch.net

3. Wedgwood: www.houseoffraser.co.uk

4. Rose & Grey: www.roseandgrey.co.uk

5. Bodie & Fou: www.bodieandfou.com

Advertisements

Item of the week…

February 26, 2012

This week’s item of the week is this egg and soldiers set. Takae Mizutani and sons, the creator of this product, have based the idea for this set on child naivety and their aim is to ‘bring a little smile to people’s faces’ and this has done just that! I love it when you find a design which is so simple in idea yet still creates a great design.

Via: Takae Mizutani and Sons: www.takaemizutani.com

Decoration By Erika

February 21, 2012

I have been busy designing and making lampshades recently. As you know I am interested in all things decoration and also love handmade products so decided to start making my own home accessories. My shop, Decoration By Erika, is all about creating home accessories to suit any home. The products are separated into three collections; vintage, timeless and in-trend, ensuring that you can find something that would sit perfectly within the style of your home. I now have online shops with Etsy and Folksy. So here are my first products…

Lampshades Available From:

http://folksy.com/shops/DecorationByErika

http://www.etsy.com/shop/DecorationByErika

Valentine’s Day

February 10, 2012

With Valentine’s day on its way, here are a few things that will make your home perfect for a romantic night in…

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

 

8.

Images Via:

1.  Sweet & Chic: www.sweetnchic.co.uk

2. Big Little House: www.big-little-house.co.uk

3. Zara Home: www.zarahome.com

4. Big Little House: www.big-little-house.co.uk

5. Graham & Green: www.grahamandgreen.co.uk

6. Big Little House: www.big-little-house.co.uk

7. Heals: www.heals.co.uk

8. The Contemporary Home: www.tch.net

Interior Trend: Lace

February 7, 2012

The ancient craft of lace making has been brought up to date  in the past months, now being used in contemporary crafts and home accessories. Also doilies too, for their pretty lace type patterns. I love the handmade doily lamp (image no. 6), an unusual craft idea with a gorgeous result. Lace is no longer associated with old-fashioned design, this trend has made lace fashionable. Lace is ideal for creating a cute and feminine interior or something more romantic and glamorous.

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

Images Via:

1. Zara Home: www.zarahome.com

2. The Hummingbird Card Company: www.notonthehighstreet.com/thehummingbirdcardcompany

3. Bianca Hall: www.roseandgrey.co.uk

4. Stephanie Earl: www.stephanieearl.co.uk

5. Little Pieces: www.notonthehighstreet.com/littlepieces

6. Dos Family: http://dosfamily.com/2011/01/lace-lamp/

Love…Shabby Chic

February 2, 2012

My latest favourite interior brand is Shabby Chic, by Rachel Ashwell. I love it for the soft, pastel colours of its products, the idea that imperfections can be beautiful and its vintage look.

The term Shabby Chic has been around for a long time and its appeal is still strong today. The style is feminine, soft, minimalist, practical, warn yet beautiful. Rachel Ashwell’s Shabby Chic depicts all of this and more. The interior furnishings have a comforting style, items that would look gorgeous in any home yet still make a room livable. The design of Shabby Chic’s products would create a timeless interior and a space you would fall in love with over and over again.

Images Via:

Shabby Chic: www.shabbychic.com

House of Fraser: www.houseoffraser.co.uk